Silent Scream
Character: Big Woodsy
Original Release: October 19, 1990 (UK)
Directed by: David Hayman
Written by: Bill Beech
Produced by: Ben Gibson
Running Time: 85 minutes

In London's seedy Soho district in 1963, Larry Winters (Iain Glen) murders a bartender with shocking violence. Sentenced to life behind bars, Winters has towering fits of rage that continue until prison doctors assign him to an experimental unit that gives him a route to self-expression. Flashbacks to his deprived Glasgow childhood with a delinquent older brother (Alexander Morton), his harrowing military experience and his history of drug abuse show how this troubled man became a murderer.

Cast & Characters

Iain Glen (Larry Winters), Angela Chadfield (Patricia), Andrew Barr (Shuggie), Julie Graham (Alice/Betty), Harry Jones (Frank Winters), Alexander Morton (Don Winters), Jamie Morton (Young Don Winters), Phil Bradley (Police Officer)

Photo Gallery
Filming Locations:
  • The Vogue Cinema, Glasgow, Strathclyde, Scotland, UK
  • This movie was Robert Carlyle's first film.
  • This film is a biopic film about convicted murderer Larry Winters.

Awards & Nominations

Evening Standard British Film Award as Best Actor - Iain Glen
Berlin International Film Festival Competition Award
Berlin International Film Festival Award as Best Acting Performance - Iain Glen
Berlin International Film Festival Golden Berlin Bear Award
Fantasporto Award as Best Film

Project navigation